Instance reset

Official MAngband News Annoucements
Post Reply
User avatar
Flambard
King Vampire
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed 20.06.2007, 10:49

Instance reset

Post by Flambard » Sun 11.09.2011, 09:50

Both game servers are now running new instances.

Sorry about your saves. There was a power failure that resulted in save-file corruption, and our back-up mechanism turned out to be broken. Thus, after serving us for many years, the flagship instance is retired. Yeah, the reset should have been epic, and instead it's pretty lame. Nonetheless, enjoy the fresh world!

Ace
Crystal Ooze
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri 15.02.2008, 12:50

Re: Instance reset

Post by Ace » Mon 12.09.2011, 22:39

nooooh my boots of faenor ... gone ;)


Too bad it happened so apruptly , i would have tried the fight against morgoth. But dont you have backups of these saves / machines?

//Acen

Ace
Crystal Ooze
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri 15.02.2008, 12:50

Re: Instance reset

Post by Ace » Mon 12.09.2011, 22:41

Wow its late i stoped reading before backup mechanismn! Anyway good luck to all I hope i ll find some time in playing some mangband again :)
Too bad I won't be able to start tomorrow so most of the arts will be gone in a few weeks :) Happy scumming!

Domiano
Crimson Mold
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat 23.04.2011, 04:10

Re: Instance reset

Post by Domiano » Tue 13.09.2011, 08:59

shit... Guess we will never know if I would have kinged with my Egoless High Elf mage...

May come back to the game in a few years. But I think for the next few years, I should concentrate on other things. Like passing actuary exams and having a life.

grisu
Giant Long-Eared Bat
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu 21.12.2006, 13:33

Re: Instance reset

Post by grisu » Tue 27.09.2011, 17:55

No dwarven town at 1k at ironman

grisu
Giant Long-Eared Bat
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu 21.12.2006, 13:33

Re: Instance reset

Post by grisu » Wed 28.09.2011, 06:37

I remember that older versions had deeper dwarven towns(1250 or so and you could use tele level scrolls).
I want to know, if there will be a restart with the newer version or not, before i travel deeper.

PowerWyrm
Balrog
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun 27.11.2005, 15:57

Re: Instance reset

Post by PowerWyrm » Wed 28.09.2011, 10:59

For the Ironman server, there need to be specific files (server.level.0.0.20 and such) placed in /lib/save to have the dwarven towns generated. Probably missing...

Warrior
Ancient MultiHued Dragon
Posts: 661
Joined: Sat 26.10.2002, 15:00
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Instance reset

Post by Warrior » Sun 02.10.2011, 09:28

I've just double checked and there is a town at 1k ( and at 2k).
-- Mangband Project Team Member

grisu
Giant Long-Eared Bat
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu 21.12.2006, 13:33

Re: Instance reset

Post by grisu » Mon 03.10.2011, 05:06

Thank you, its now implemented.
The char directly logged into the town level, but at a dead corner.
Phase door has helped to find the way to the shops so.

Post Reply