Death!

General discussion about the game. Pull up a stool and tell us your tale!
Berendol
Evil Iggy

Death!

Post by Berendol » Mon 27.12.2004, 17:56

I'd have to disagree with the idea of making the game more difficult for the 30-40 range of levels... I died shortly after recall to 3600, then my ghost landed on ethereal hounds, then I floated up into chaos hounds for the final few blows. It's plenty hard enough as is... please don't make it any tougher in the mid-game. The bottom and end-game are still too easy by all accounts.
By appreciation, we make excellence in others our own property. (Voltaire)

Fink
Ancient MultiHued Dragon

Re: Death!

Post by Fink » Mon 27.12.2004, 19:04

Y'know, I kinda agree with Berendols comments. I consider myself to currently be just leaving the newbie stage, on my Great Journey of Mangband and all that.

Over the year or so I've played as a noob, I don't think I really ever felt that the game was a breeze or easy - quite the opposite often.

This topic brings to mind a common problem in longer-term MMORPGS, whether MUDs or otherwise. The problem that is often experienced is that of long time players becoming very adept at the game, and an understandable response to this of making things more difficult.

To a "t" , in most cases this has one serious unintended consquence: newer users get the shaft, as the game is now tuned for the expert, and the new user is assumed by implication to be able to play at a skilled level and to know all the tricks.

An example of this is the long-running commercial MUD Gemstone (currently in version 4). This mud has got to be one of the greatest test beds for all things MMORPG, due to the insanely long lifespan it has had, and continues to have.